Illinoisans to receive the Order of Lincoln on May 18, 2019 in Springfield

Read the Announcement →
Mellody Hobson



Each fall, an outstanding senior from each of the four-year degree-granting institutions of higher learning in Illinois is awarded the Abraham Lincoln Civic Engagement Award and thereby becomes a Student Laureate of The Lincoln Academy of Illinois. In the spirit of Lincoln, Student Laureates are honored for their leadership and service in the pursuit of the betterment of humanity and for overall excellence in curricular and extracurricular activities.

Proceeds from the Annual Convocation Celebration are used toward the Student Laureate Program.

Since the program’s inception in 1975, over 2,000 students have been so honored.

Supporters of the Lincoln Academy of IllinoisBeth & Ed HowardEmily, Andrea & Dr. Brian BearWanda & Don Tracy, Lincoln LegacyCourtney Shea, Lincoln LeadershipMajor General John Borling (USAF-ret)Dr. Vera & Frank ClarkThe Lincoln Academy of Illinois


Click a photo to learn
more about these
previous Laureates

Edward L. McMillan

Nancy Goodman Brinker

Chad Pregracke

The Lincoln Academy of Illinois


To honor individuals whose outstanding contributions to the betterment of mankind have been accomplished in or on behalf of the State of Illinois, or whose achievements have brought honor to the State because of their identity with it, whether by birth or residence, or by their dedication to those principles of democracy and humanity as exemplified by the great Illinoisan whose name we bear. These individuals, reflective of the diverse populace of the State of Illinois, are named Laureates of the Academy and receive the “Order of Lincoln,” the State of Illinois’ highest award, at an annual Convocation.

To honor one outstanding senior from each of the four year not-for-profit degree granting institutions and one outstanding senior from among all of the community college students who, in the spirit of Abraham Lincoln, demonstrated leadership and service in his or her campus or community and excellence in curricular and co-curricular programs, to be named Student Laureates and receive the Abraham Lincoln Civic Engagement Award and the Lincoln Medallion.

Facebook feed

This message is only visible to admins:
Unable to display Facebook posts

Error: Error validating application. Application has been deleted.
Type: OAuthException
Code: 190
Click here to Troubleshoot.