

The Lincoln Academy of Illinois

One Old State Capitol Plaza Springfield, Illinois 62701 Telephone: 217-785-5030 www.thelincolnacademyofillinois.org

CONTACT: Julie Kellner (217) 785-5030

Honoring the great citizens of today Celebrating the great citizens for tomorrow

Student Laureates to be honored The Lincoln Academy of Illinois

SPRINGFIELD – The top students representing Illinois' colleges and universities will be honored via a pre-recorded Zoom production by The Lincoln Academy of Illinois. The ceremony to recognize the Student Laureates of The Lincoln Academy is historically held every fall at the Old State Capitol State Historic Site in Springfield, but is going virtual again this year due to COVID-19 restrictions on large inperson gatherings.

The 47th annual Lincoln Academy Student Laureate virtual ceremony will recognize excellence in curricular and extracurricular activities by seniors from each of the state's four-year, degree-granting colleges and universities, and one student from the community colleges in Illinois. It will be available November 10 at www.ThelLncolnAcademyofIllinois.org.

The Zoom production will include a congratulatory statement by Governor J. B. Pritzker, the President of the Lincoln Academy. Academy Vice Chancellor, The Honorable Ron Spears, will give the invocation and Chancellor Frank Clark will make welcoming remarks. Four Laureates of The Lincoln Academy will speak to each of the four recognized pillars Abraham Lincoln's leadership, and these include: Courage, 2012 Lincoln Laureate and 1990 Student Laureate Jean Driscoll; empathy, 2005 Lincoln Laureate and past Academy Chancellor Stephanie Pace Marshall, PhD; honesty, 2016 Laureate Scott Simon; and integrity, 2014 Laureate Michael 'Coach K' Krzyzewski.

Student Laureates will receive a letter and certificate of merit signed by Gov. Pritzker, a Lincoln medallion, a challenge coin, and a \$500 check from The Lincoln Academy. Student Laureates are selected by their individual schools. Those to be honored as Class of 2021 Student Laureates include:

Student Laureate	Institution	Hometown
Laura Kathryn Keenan	Augustana College	Chicago, IL
Gavin Edward Withaeger	Aurora University	Plainfield, IL
Maryam Salik	Benedictine University	Naperville, IL
Briana Milich	Blackburn College	Washington, IL
Nailah L. Brown	Bradley University	Country Club Hills, IL
Nekoiya O. Washington	Chicago State University	Chicago, IL
Anna Elizabeth Baumeister	Columbia College Chicago	Jacksonville, FL

Jesse Muehler Concordia University Chicago Fenton, MO Ankit Pal **DePaul University** Chicago, IL Nathaly Valdivia Oberto-Besso **Dominican University** Chicago, IL Asha Thompson **East-West University** Chicago, IL Jerimiah A. Boyd-Johnson Eastern Illinois University Hannah Riley Bacon **Elmhurst University** Cincinnati, OH Chloe Kaye Overstreet Eureka College Kansas City, MO Sedona Lynn Smith **Governors State University** Freeport, IL Adin Fleischer **Greenville University** Carlinville, IL Lauren Regina Sgambelluri Illinois College Springfield, IL Illinois Institute of Technology Naperville, IL Joyce Gu Luke Christian Madden Illinois State University Carol Stream, IL Daniel John Maisch Illinois Wesleyan University Batavia, IL Madison Kendall Psinas Judson University Pekin, IL Rebecca Belle Gadiel New Buffalo, MI Knox College Hernandez Mizraim Lake Forest College Waukegan, IL Jada Hoffman Lewis University Chicago, IL **Bryce Andrew Cook** Lincoln Christian University Wolcott, IN Jacilyn Nicole Gunderson Lincoln College Bloomington, IL Jessica Ann Hoffmann McKendree University Belleville, IL Nat Mars Long Millikin University Verona, WI Elizabeth M. Gustafson Monmouth College Kewanee, IL Louwallien D. Krupa National Louis University Orland Park, IL Bry'Shawna A. Walker North Central College Lake in the Hills, IL Ellen G. Hilbrands North Park University Ada, MI Kimberly Nu-Tall Northeastern Illinois University Oak Park, IL Megan Nicole Nordstrom Northern Illinois University Galva, IL Claire Koster Northwestern University St. Louis, MO Natalie E. Cook Olivet Nazarene University Flint, MI Sophie Hills Principia College Orleans, MA Bailee S. Highbarger Quincy University Amboy, IL Ryan Nathaniel Callahan **Rockford University** Rockford, IL Hawthorn Woods, IL Rose Poplawski **Roosevelt University** Katherine M. Hutto Saint Xavier University Downers Grove, IL Shreva Agarwal School of the Art Institute of Chicago Pune, India Southern Illinois University Carbondale Francesca C. Burkett Carterville, IL Samantha Rae Gallatin Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Machesney Park, IL Stephanie Catherine Reitzig The University of Chicago Longmont, CO Evie Jo Dykhouse Trinity Christian College Byron Center, MI Trinity International University Catherine Alles Wauwatosa, WI Courtney J. Washington University of Illinois at Chicago Chicago, IL Summer L. Warner University of Illinois Springfield Paducah, KY University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Alexa Christine Smith Geneva, IL

University of St. Francis

VanderCook College of Music

Western Illinois University

Kalamazoo, MI

California, MO

Yorkville, IL

Jonathan Matthew Wolf

Daniel Richard Schmitt

Elizabeth N. Lutz

In addition to honoring the state's Student Laureates, Illinois is unique in the United States in selecting present or former citizens who have made outstanding contributions toward the progress and betterment of humanity to be honored as Laureates of the Lincoln Academy and receive the "Order of Lincoln" from the Governor, a process that has been in place since 1964.

Proceeds from the spring Laureate Convocation are used to support the Student Laureate program each fall. For more information visit www.TheLincolnAcademyofIllinois.org or The Lincoln Academy's social media sites.

#