

The Lincoln Academy of Illinois

One Old State Capitol Plaza Springfield, Illinois 62701 Telephone: 217-785-5030

www.thelincolnacademyofillinois.org

October 19, 2020 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Julie Kellner (217) 785-5030

Student Laureates to be honored The Lincoln Academy of Illinois

SPRINGFIELD – The top students representing Illinois' colleges and universities will be honored via a pre-recorded Zoom production by The Lincoln Academy of Illinois. The ceremony to recognize the Student Laureates of The Lincoln Academy is historically held every fall at the Old State Capitol State Historic Site in Springfield, but is going virtual this year due to COVID-19 restrictions on large in-person gatherings.

The 46th annual Lincoln Academy Student Laureate virtual ceremony will recognize excellence in curricular and extracurricular activities by seniors from each of the state's four-year, degree-granting colleges and universities, and one student from the community colleges in Illinois. It will be available November 10 at www.thelincolnacademyofillinois.org.

The Zoom production will include a congratulatory statement by Governor J. B. Pritzker, the President of the Lincoln Academy. Academy Vice Chancellor, The Honorable Ron Spears, will give the invocation and Chancellor Frank Clark will make welcoming remarks. Four Laureates of The Lincoln Academy will speak to each of the four recognized pillars Abraham Lincoln's leadership, and these include: Courage, 2012 Lincoln Laureate and 1990 Student Laureate Jean Driscoll; empathy, 2005 Lincoln Laureate and past Academy Chancellor Stephanie Pace Marshall, PhD; honesty, 2019 Laureate George Will; and integrity, 2014 Laureate Michael 'Coach K' Krzyzewski.

Student Laureates will receive a letter and certificate of merit signed by Gov. Pritzker, a Lincoln medallion, a challenge coin, and a \$500 check from The Lincoln Academy. Student Laureates are selected by their individual schools. Those to be honored as Class of 2020 Student Laureates include:

Student Laureate	Institution	Hometown
Aleksander Jacobs	Augustana College	Rock Island, IL
Basma Outhman	Aurora University	Aurora, IL
Brittany Lynn Chally	Benedictine University	Algonquin, IL
Jacob D. McGiles	Bradley University	Jacksonville, IL
Jason B. Jones	Chicago State University	Chicago, IL
Anthony Fuentes	Columbia College Chicago	Sterling Heights, MI
Gerardo Medina	Concordia University Chicago	Cicero, IL
Gisselle M. Cervantes	DePaul University	Darien, IL

Carlos Benitez **Dominican University** Chicago, IL Esther Jimenez **East-West University** Chicago, IL Cole D. Hoover **Eastern Illinois University** Mattoon, IL Christopher Michael Binder Elmhurst University Frankfort, IL Eureka College Madison Loger LaSalle, IL Jeanine Latrice Koger **Governors State University** Harvey, IL Sidney Rose Webster Greenville University Effingham, IL Olivia R. Jordan Illinois College Moweaqua, IL Diana Silvas Illinois Institute of Technology Chicago, IL Illinois State University Bensenville, IL Kathryn J. Bruce Illinois Wesleyan University Meghan Lehmann Peoria, IL Rebecca Marie Johnson **Judson University** Mount Prospect, IL Isaac S. Hughes **Knox College** Vashon, WA Uchechi Okeke Lake Forest College Rockford, IL Grace Ann Crumbaugh Lewis University Joliet, IL Seth Alan Webster Lincoln Christian University Bath, IN Melissa Jov Benson Lincoln College Morris, IL Camille Jackson Loyola University Chicago Chicago, IL Caleb Reid Shipley McKendree University Centralia, IL Naperville, IL Justin N. Craig Millikin University Joseph Coan Botte Doner Monmouth College Arlington Heights, IL Vontain Cornelius Wray **National Louis University** Lake Beach, IL Emma L. Nelson North Central College Newark, IL Jessica Torres North Park University Chicago, IL Obsmara Ulloa Northeastern Illinois University Chicago, IL Northern Illinois University Jill Elizabeth Belluomini Cary, IL Northwestern University Amsterdam, Noord Holland, Femke Munting The Netherlands Lily A. Jarzabkowski Olivet Nazarene University Wheaton, IL Tara Marie Adhikari Principia College Lewisville, TX Jacob Flynn Quincy University Mt. Sterling, IL **Tanner Elliott Rockford University** Loves Park, IL Kaitlyn N. Greenholt **Roosevelt University** Chicago Ridge, IL Yasmine Zavala Saint Xavier University Chicago, IL Anavi Bhushan Nugyal School of the Art Institute of Chicago Malad West, Mumbai Maryam Makhdoom Southern Illinois University Carbondale Carbondale, IL Tessa Renee Walker Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Glen Carbon, IL Firouz Jon Niazi The University of Chicago Evanston, IL Ross Michael Barz Trinity Christian College Zeeland, MI Trinity International University Brookfield, WI Justin Chu Wasan Mani Kumar University of Illinois at Chicago Skokie. IL Kodi J. Smith University of Illinois Springfield Taylorville, IL Isabella "Issy" Rose Marquez University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Chicago, IL Alysa Ann Kline University of St. Francis Joliet, IL

VanderCook College of Music

Western Illinois University

Chicago, IL

Roselle, IL

Ashley Barajas-Galan

Paula A. Ramirez

In addition to honoring the state's Student Laureates, Illinois is unique in the United States in selecting present or former citizens who have made outstanding contributions toward the progress and betterment of humanity to be honored as Laureates of the Lincoln Academy and receive the "Order of Lincoln" from the Governor, a process that has been in place since 1964.

Proceeds from the spring Laureate Convocation are used to support the Student Laureate program each fall. For more information visit www.TheLincolnAcademyOfIllinois.org or The Lincoln Academy's social media sites.

#