Student Press Release – 2009

The Lincoln Academy of Illinois

Old State Capitol * Springfield, IL 62701 * (217) 785-5030 * FAX (217) 523-9792

Date: November 3, 2009

Julie Kellner
(217) 785-5030

Student Laureates to be honored by Lincoln Academy November 7. Ceremony at Old State Capitol recognizes the top student from each college and university in Illinois

SPRINGFIELD – The Lincoln Academy of Illinois will honor outstanding senior college students during the annual Student Laureate Convocation at 11 a.m. Saturday, November 7 the Old State Capitol State Historic Site in Springfield.

The Lincoln Academy’s Student Laureate Awards are presented for excellence in curricular and extracurricular activities to seniors from each of the four-year, degree-granting colleges and universities in Illinois. At the Student Laureate Convocation, each will receive a Student Laureate Medallion, along with an honorarium check and certificate of achievement. This event will mark the 35th year that students have been honored by the Academy.

These students have exhibited a personal commitment to excel as seen by their remarkable academic accomplishments,

said John B. Simon, Chancellor of the Lincoln Academy, who added,

They serve as role models to other Illinois students. With hardworking and dedicated young leaders such as these, Illinois and the rest of the nation can look forward to a bright future.

Honorable Richard Mills, Judge of the United States District Court for the Central District of Illinois, will deliver the keynote address. The invocation will be delivered by Academy Trustee Rev. Ruben I. Cruz, and the benediction will be given by Southern Illinois University Carbondale Chancellor Dr. Samuel Goldman. The Sangamon Woodwind Consort will provide music, and a luncheon at the Illinois Executive Mansion will follow the Student Laureate Convocation.

The Lincoln Academy, unique among the 50 states, was established 45 years ago to honor Illinois’ most distinguished citizens with the state’s highest award, the Order of Lincoln. The 2010 Order of Lincoln Convocation will be held April 17, 2010 in Chicago.

School, Student, Home Town
Augustana College, Max C. Peterson, Mundelein, IL
Aurora University, Jessica J. Wernli, Sterling, IL
Benedictine University, Maria Jauch, Palatine, IL
Blackburn College, Brett Allen, Staunton, IL
Bradley University, Marcus J. Belin, Chicago, IL
Chicago State University, Quiana M. Hardy, Richton Park, IL
Concordia University, Amanda J. Finke, League City, TX
DePaul University, Francisco Valencia, Chicago, IL
Dominican University, Cicely Bonilla, Chicago, IL
Eastern Illinois University, William M. Wolf, Erie, IL
Elmhurst College, Robert J. Strzemp, Oak Park, IL
Eureka College, Elizabeth C. Hoff, Hendrum, MN
Governors State University, Adam A. Taylor, Matteson, IL
Greenville College, Stephen M. Groves, Greenville, IL
Illinois College, Lydia M. Martin, York Springs, PA
IL Institute of Technology, Daniel J. Votipka, Nashville, NC
Illinois State University, Douglas M. Johnson, Gibson City, IL
Illinois Wesleyan University, Emily C. Vock, Bloomington, IL
Knox College, Sarah T. Kurian, Elburn, IL
Lake Forest College, Jaime Perez, Highland Park, IL
Lewis University, Ashley D. Jones, Naperville, IL
Lincoln College, Mubeen A. Khan, Wheeling, IL
Loyola University, Antonio Giron, Chicago, IL
MacMurray College, Melissa J. Naberhaus, Warrenville, IL
McKendree College, Margaret L. Rahmoeller, Webster Groves, MO
Millikin University, Amanda L. McMillion, Oswego, IL
Monmouth College, John A. Kaiser, Hanover Park, IL
North Central College, Stephanie R. Ryding, Naperville, IL
Northeastern Illinois Univ., Sunil Mahadeshwar, Chicago, IL
Northern Illinois University, Shay M. Galto, Wheaton, IL
North Park University, Lukas E. Dahlstrom, Etna, NH
Olivet Nazarene University, Jasper P. Taylor, Flossmoor, IL
Principia College, Chelsea B. Kendrick, Bethesda, MD
Quincy University, Kari D. Miller, Camp Point, IL
Rockford College, Alix A. Sauld, Ripon, WI
Roosevelt University, Mallory A. Umar, Chicago, IL
St. Xavier University, Sarah A. Rakauskas, Chicago, IL
Southern IL U. – Carbondale, Toni D. Whitfield, Johnston City, IL
Southern IL U. – Edwardsville, Stephen J. Garland, Pontoon Beach, IL
Trinity Christian University, Jonathan E. VanderWoude, Cutler Bay, FL
Trinity International University, Stephanie K. McDearmon, Morrison, IL
University of Chicago, Anya Thetford, Chicago, IL
Univ. of IL – Chicago, Esther A. Ogedengbe, Bolingbrook, IL
Univ. of IL – Springfield, Priyanka N. Deo, Chicago, IL
U of I – Urbana/Champaign, Mark H. Paik, Des Plaines, IL
Univ. of St. Francis, Matthew M. Bisek, Palos Hills, IL
Western Illinois University, Matthew J. Barr, Belvidere, IL
Lewis and Clark Community College, Kary M. Holliday, Alton, IL