Office of the Governor

Pat Quinn

For Immediate Release

Wednesday, October 29, 2014


Press Line: (312) 814-3158

Katie Hickey

Dave Blanchette


Governor Quinn Announces Top Students Honored by Lincoln Academy November 1

Ceremony at Old State Capitol Recognizes the Top Student from Each College and University in Illinois

SPRINGFIELD Governor Pat Quinn today announced the state’s exceptional college students who were honored by the Lincoln Academy of Illinois on November 1. The Academy recognized students at the top of their class during the annual Student Laureate Convocation at 11 a.m. Saturday, November 1 the Old State Capitol State Historic Site in Springfield.

“I want to commend these students for their hard work, both in the classroom and in their communities,” Governor Quinn said. “Their achievement and dedication attests to the value of higher education in Illinois, and the high quality students our schools produce.”

The Lincoln Academy’s Student Laureate Awards are presented for excellence in curricular and extracurricular activities to seniors from each of the state’s four-year, degree-granting colleges and universities, and one student from among the community colleges in Illinois. At the Student Laureate Convocation, each student will receive a Student Laureate Medallion, along with a $1,000 educational grant and a certificate of achievement. This is the 40th year Lincoln Academy has celebrated students’ excellence in Illinois.

Student Laureate Katie Landgrebe of Northwestern University spoke on behalf of all the Laureates. The invocation was delivered by Dr. Robert Gervasi, President of Quincy University, and the benediction was delivered by University of Illinois Springfield Chancellor Dr. Susan Koch. The Sangamon Woodwind Consort provided music, and a luncheon at the Illinois Executive Mansion followed the Student Laureate Convocation.

The Lincoln Academy, unique among the 50 states, was established more than 50 years ago to honor distinguished citizens with the state’s highest award, the Order of Lincoln. The 52nd Annual Convocation and Investiture of Laureates of The Lincoln Academy of Illinois will take place Saturday, May 9, 2015 at the Illinois State Capitol in Chicago.



School Student Home Town
Augustana College Natali K. Bode Aurora, IL
Aurora University Hector Velazquez North Aurora, IL
Benedictine University Sydney Van Alstyne Island Lake, IL
Blackburn College Allison Funneman Effingham, IL
Bradley University Brian T. Deal Naperville, IL
Columbia College – Chicago John C. Joson Anchorage, AK
Concordia University Chicago David B. Woenker Cary, IL
DePaul University Paul Pearson Chicago, IL/td>
Dominican University Arianna Salgado Chicago, IL
Eastern Illinois University Mitchell Gurick Darien, IL
East-West University Delano C. Lee Chicago, IL
Elmhurst College Eleni N. Vrettos Cicero, IL
Eureka College Eleanor M Stewart Holyoke, CO
Governors State University Stefany Sigler Joliet, IL
Greenville College Rachel E. Allaman Oquawka, IL
Illinois College Jacob E. Dander Genoa, IL
Illinois Institute of Technology Sara Glade Sleepy Hollow, IL
Illinois State University Jennifer L. Jaroch Elk Grove Village, IL
Illinois Wesleyan University Hannah Eby Dubuque, IA
Judson University Molly E. Studer Milford, IN
Knox College Celinda K. Davis Champaign, IL
Lake Forest College Akuka G. Agyei Swaziland
Lewis University Lindsy C. Morgan Alberville, MN
Lincoln College Emily H. Johnson Lincoln, IL
Loyola University Chicago David S. Lewis Hoffman Estates, IL
MacMurray College Clayton G. Whitlock Springfield, IL
McKendree University Lindsay Hansard Belleville, IL
Millikin University Eleanor M. Spencer Flanagan, IL
Monmouth College Stephanie N. Lankford Effingham, IL
National Louis University Hortencia Rodriguez Berwyn, IL
North Central College Taylor E. Harrison Morton, IL
North Park University Christina Phillip Hinsdale, IL
Northeastern Illinois University Emma E. Battaglia Chicago, IL
Northern Illinois University Tertia A. Jeppson Peru, IL
Northwestern University Kathryn V. Landgrebe Cincinnati, OH
Olivet Nazarene University Jessica D. Ellison Walton, IN
Principia College Gustavo L. Batista Yarmouth, MA
Quincy University Julie Von Holdener Belleville, IL
Rockford University Allison A. Jackson Roscoe, IL
Roosevelt University Kara J. Emery East Peoria, IL
St. Xavier University Brooke N. McInerney Dwight, IL
Southern IL Univ. Carbondale David C. Lynch Rockford, IL
Southern IL Univ. Edwardsville Corey J. Huber Edwardsville, IL
The University of Chicago Alyssa Bivins Chicago, IL
Trinity Christian College David W. Lucas Hobart, IN
Trinity International University Haedi E. DeAngelis Deerfield, IL
University of IL at Chicago Allyson Joyce Chicago, IL
University of IL at Springfield Clarissa Fisher Rochester, IL
Univ. of IL at Urbana-Champaign Naomi Liu Westmont, IL
University of St. Francis Amanda J. Buechel Joliet, IL
VanderCook College of Music Marlee A. Wilde Princeton, IL
Western Illinois University Ashley Luke Macomb, IL
Wheaton College Andrew G. Hensel Chicago, IL
Illinois Central College Trevor R. Mileur Peoria, IL
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply