Student Laureates Honored by Lincoln Academy November 3, 2012

The Lincoln Academy of Illinois
Old State Capitol * Springfield, IL 62701 * (217) 785-5030 * FAX (217) 523-9792

Student Laureates CONTACT:
October 29, 2012 Julie Kellner
(217) 785-5030

Student Laureates to be honored by Lincoln Academy November 3

Ceremony at Old State Capitol recognizes the top student from each college and university in Illinois

SPRINGFIELD – The Lincoln Academy of Illinois will honor outstanding senior college students and one student from among all of the community college students in Illinois during the annual Student Laureate Convocation at 11 a.m. Saturday, November 3 the Old State Capitol State Historic Site in Springfield.

The Lincoln Academy’s Student Laureate Awards are presented for excellence in curricular and extracurricular activities to seniors from each of the four-year, degree-granting colleges and universities in Illinois. At the Student Laureate Convocation, each will receive a Student Laureate Medallion, along with an honorarium check and certificate of achievement. This event will mark the 38th year that students have been honored by the Academy.

“These students have exhibited a personal commitment to excel as seen by their remarkable academic accomplishments,” said Thomas S. Johnson, Chancellor of the Lincoln Academy, who added, “They serve as role models to other Illinois students. With hard-working and dedicated young leaders such as these, Illinois and the rest of the nation can look forward to a bright future.”

Student Laureate Hailey Michelle Gehlbach of Lincoln College will speak on behalf of all the Laureates. The invocation will be delivered by Dr. Miriam Pride, President of Blackburn College. The Sangamon Woodwind Consort will provide music, and a luncheon at the Illinois Executive Mansion will follow the Student Laureate Convocation.

The Lincoln Academy, unique among the 50 states, was established 48 years ago to honor Illinois’ most distinguished citizens with the state’s highest award, the Order of Lincoln. The 49th Annual Convocation and Investiture of Laureates of The Lincoln Academy of Illinois will take place Saturday, April 13, 2013 at Augustana College in Rock Island.


Augustana College Astrid Tello-Rodriguez Milan, IL
Aurora University Monica Delorio Naperville, IL
Benedictine University Heriberto Diaz Chicago, IL
Blackburn College Shawn Eric Watkins Virden, IL
Bradley University Cecil Blutcher Olympia Fields, IL
Chicago State University Stephanie Michelle Sanchez Chicago, IL.
Columbia College Jessica Lee Egan Nashotah, WI
Concordia University Katrina Elyse Brundage Red Bud, IL
DePaul University Caitlin Conway Chicago, IL
Dominican University Edgar Nieto Mundelein, IL
Eastern Illinois University Jaclyn L. Carstens Toulon, IL
Elmhurst College Jessica K. Wadleigh Geneva, IL
Eureka College Douglas Owen Collins Coupeville, WA
Governors State University Katherine Rhea Baggarly Chicago, IL
Greenville College Ross Baker Fisher, IL
Illinois College Joshua Walters St. Charles, MO
IL Institute of Technology Robert M. Morrison Owasso, OK
Illinois State University Nancy Jean O’Neill Algonquin, IL
Illinois Wesleyan University Daniel Kenny Barcelona, Spain
Judson University Matt Langton Marengo, IL
Knox College John Salvatore Cusimano Tinley Park, IL
Lake Forest College Lauren Nicole Levinson Northbrook, IL
Lewis University Emily A. Keene Hebron, IN
Lincoln College Hailey Michelle Gehlbach Roanoke, IL
Loyola University Alexandra Vecchio Belleville, IL
MacMurray College Derek Alan Crouch Chatham, IL
McKendree University Matthew B. Ernst Peoria, IL
Millikin University Jamiahus D. Walton Peoria, IL
Monmouth College Michelle M. Hutchison Galesburg, IL
Morton College Brenda Bedolla Cicero, IL
National-Louis University Willie Powell Maywood, IL
North Central College Maria Elizabeth Gommel Malta, IL
North Park University Shadae Gatlin Chicago, IL
Northeastern Illinois Univ. Kathryn Cherry Glenview, IL
Northwestern Illinois Univ. Amalia Namath Chicago, IL
Northern Illinois University Wayne Duerkes Somonauk, IL
Olivet Nazarene University Jameson Dwight Forshee Grand Blanc, MI
Principia College Shelby Ann Lemons Carmel, IN
Quincy University Lauren M. Stephans Batavia, IL
Rockford College Brittany Adelle Salvador Oregon, IL
Roosevelt University Carina I. Balan Arlington Heights, IL
St. Xavier University Darryl Phillip Brown, Jr. Matteson, IL
Southern IL U. – Carbondale Brock Edward Kabat Scheller, IL
Southern IL U. – Edwardsville Jessica Colleen Thompson Troy, IL
The University of Chicago Nancy Pantoja Chicago, IL
Trinity Christian College Adam Perez Racine, WI
Trinity International University Elisabeth Speckhard Cottage Grove, MN
Univ. of IL – Chicago Kenneth Matthew Thomas Midlothian, IL
Univ. of IL – Springfield Elizabeth Kelly Carlinville, IL
U of I – Urbana/Champaign Benjamin Martin Miller Boody, IL
Univ. of St. Francis Jessica Lynn Nayder Mokena, IL
Western Illinois University Lauren N. Armstead Auburn, IL
Wheaton College Hilary Elizabeth Dirks Bloomington, IL

# # #

Click here to add your own text