Press Release: 2011 Student Laureates

The Thirty-seventh Annual Student Laureate Award Ceremony will be held at 11 am on Saturday, November 5, 2011, in the Hall of Representatives, Old State Capitol, Springfield, Illinois.

Each fall, an outstanding senior from each of the four-year degree-granting institutions of higher learning in Illinois is awarded the Student Lincoln Academy Medallion and thereby becomes a Student Laureate of The Lincoln Academy of Illinois. Student Laureates are honored for their overall excellence in curricular and extracurricular activities.

The Lincoln Academy of Illinois
Old State Capitol * Springfield, IL 62701 * (217) 785-5030 * FAX (217) 523-9792

298-11 CONTACT:
October 27, 2011 Julie Kellner
(217) 785-5030

Student Laureates to be honored by Lincoln Academy November 5

Ceremony at Old State Capitol recognizes the top student from each college and university in Illinois

SPRINGFIELD – The Lincoln Academy of Illinois will honor outstanding senior college students and one student from among all of the community college students in Illinois during the annual Student Laureate Convocation at 11 a.m. Saturday, November 5 the Old State Capitol State Historic Site in Springfield.

The Lincoln Academy’s Student Laureate Awards are presented for excellence in curricular and extracurricular activities to seniors from each of the four-year, degree-granting colleges and universities in Illinois. At the Student Laureate Convocation, each will receive a Student Laureate Medallion, along with an honorarium check and certificate of achievement. This event will mark the 37th year that students have been honored by the Academy.

“These students have exhibited a personal commitment to excel as seen by their remarkable academic accomplishments,” said Thomas S. Johnson, Chancellor of the Lincoln Academy, who added, “They serve as role models to other Illinois students. With hard-working and dedicated young leaders such as these, Illinois and the rest of the nation can look forward to a bright future.”

Student Laureate Rebecca Ann Kamp of Augustana College will speak on behalf of all the Laureates. The invocation will be delivered by Susan Koch, Chancellor of the University of Illinois at Springfield, and the benediction will be given by The Reverend Stanley L. Davis, Jr. The Sangamon Woodwind Consort will provide music, and a luncheon at the Illinois Executive Mansion will follow the Student Laureate Convocation.

The Lincoln Academy, unique among the 50 states, was established 47 years ago to honor Illinois’ most distinguished citizens with the state’s highest award, the Order of Lincoln. The 48th Annual Convocation and Investiture of Laureates of The Lincoln Academy of Illinois will take place Saturday, April 21, 2012 at the Illinois State Capitol Building in Springfield. The convocation planning co-chairs are Donald and Wanda Tracy.


Augustana College Rebecca Ann Kamp Rockford, IL
Aurora University Emma J. Hill Alpine, CA
Benedictine University Lemuel “James” Dahan Lisle, IL
Blackburn College Ruthie J. Kahl Bunker Hill, IL
Bradley University Kathleen M. Clemens Tinley Park, IL
Chicago State University Aisha Lynn Williams Chicago, IL
Columbia College Blair A. Mishleau Janesville, WI
Concordia University Adam E. Carnehl Palatine, IL
DePaul University Jonae Kates Chicago, IL
Dominican University Marlena Ceballos Chicago, IL
Eastern Illinois University Cassie Lynn Fuller Ottawa, IL
Elmhurst College Hannah M. Thompson Glenview, IL
Eureka College Katelyn G. Rowen Moline, IL
Governors State University Darwin Gordon Chicago, IL
Greenville College Joshua D. Cranston Seattle, WA
Illinois College Meaghan Karaffa Girard, IL
IL Institute of Technology Urba R. Mandrekar United Arab Emirates
Illinois State University Elizabeth E. Flores Berwyn, IL
Illinois Wesleyan University Lauren Contorno Elburn, IL
Judson University Rachel L. Delph Dunlap, IL
Knox College Lauren M. Smith Carthage, IL
Lake Forest College Allyson M. Bain Vernon Hills, IL
Lake Land College Kiersten Kasey Ashmore, IL
Lewis University Salvatore Ursino Ridge, IL
Lincoln College Jamie M. Kilpatrick Normal, IL
Loyola University Margaret A. Meza Plano, IL
MacMurray College Matthew T. Stock Chapin, IL
McKendree University Michael J. Anderson Belleville, IL
Millikin University Kelsey Nihiser Decatur, IL
Monmouth College Alexander B. Holt Evanston, IL
North Central College Emily L. Rademaker Cary, IL
North Park University Hannah A. Haugen Milwaukie, OR
Northeastern Illinois Univ. Jessica Mamola Chicago, IL
Northern Illinois University Nora K. Lindvall DeKalb, IL
Olivet Nazarene University Kyle A. Lowry Winamac, IN
Principia College Christian Richardson Chesterfield, MO
Quincy University Kevin R. Hahn Peoria, IL
Rockford College Samuel J. Randall Caledonia, IL
Roosevelt University Rosie E. Hatzilabrou St. Charles, IL
St. Xavier University Julie Keller New Lenox, IL
Southern IL U. Anthony M. Graham Mt. Vernon, IL
Southern IL U. Jenna R. Schneider Bethalto, IL
Trinity Christian University Alberto A. LaRosa Glendale Heights, IL
Trinity International University David R. Mackett Brookfield, WI
University of Chicago Diamon C. Lockett Berwyn, IL
Univ. of IL Nicholas Flores Chicago, IL
Univ. of IL Amanda D. Wilczynski Compton, IL
U of I William A. Tabrizi Vernon Hills, IL
Univ. of St. Francis Margaret M. Motto New Lenox, IL
Western Illinois University Laura A. Lins Racine, WI
Wheaton College Graham R. Smith Naperville, IL