

For Immediate Release Thursday, November 5, 2015

Contact
Catherine Kelly
Catherine.Kelly@illinois.gov

Governor Rauner Announces Top Students to be Honored by The Lincoln Academy of Illinois

Ceremony at Old State Capitol Recognizes the Top Students from Each College and University in Illinois

SPRINGFIELD – Governor Bruce Rauner today announced this year's outstanding college students who will be honored by the Lincoln Academy of Illinois. The Academy will recognize the following students during the annual Student Laureate Convocation at 11 a.m. Saturday, November 7 at the Old State Capitol in Springfield.

"Civic engagement, as exemplified by President Lincoln, is crucial to our democracy and the process of our government," said Governor Rauner. "The young men and women receiving this recognition today embody the spirit of President Lincoln through their hard work and dedication to their schools and communities."

The Lincoln Academy's Abraham Lincoln Civic Engagement Awards are presented for excellence in curricular and extracurricular activities to seniors from each of the state's four-year, degree-granting colleges and universities, and one student from the community colleges in Illinois. At the Student Laureate Convocation, each student will receive a Student Laureate Medallion, along with a \$1,000 educational grant and a certificate of achievement. This is the 41st year Lincoln Academy has celebrated students' excellence in Illinois.

Student Laureate Cynthia J. Avila of the University of Chicago will speak on behalf of all the Laureates. The invocation will be delivered by Dr. Stanley R. Liberty, Interim President of Bradley University, and the benediction will be delivered by Eureka College President J. David Arnold. The Sangamon Woodwind Consort will provide music, and a luncheon at the Abraham Lincoln Hotel will follow the Student Laureate Convocation.

The Lincoln Academy, unique among the 50 states, was established more than 50 years ago to honor distinguished citizens with the state's highest award, the Order of Lincoln. The 52nd Annual Convocation and Investiture of Laureates of The Lincoln Academy of Illinois will take place Saturday, May 7, 2016 at the historic Marriott Pere Marquette Hotel in Peoria.

School	Student	Home Tow
	<u>n</u>	
Augustana College	Aubrey Waddick	Algonquin, IL
Aurora University	Sherry A. Maschmeyer	Frankfort, IL
Benedictine University	Dana V. Cairns	Lombard, IL
Blackburn College	Sarah Collman	New Douglas, IL
Bradley University	Kristin Kreher	Smithton, IL
Columbia College – Chicago	Lance T. Cox	Rockford, IL
Concordia University Chicago	Kayla E. Lohman	Kirkwood, MO
DePaul University	Nicole May	Lemont, IL
Dominican University	Cutberto Aguayo	Chicago, IL
Eastern Illinois University	Shirmeen Ahmad	Romeoville, IL
East-West University	Ghada M. Morrar	Chicago, IL
Elmhurst College	Angil J. Tate	Atlanta, GA
Eureka College	Michael A. Sain, II	Reynoldsburg, OH
Governors State University	Jerry Davis el	Richton Park, IL
Greenville College	Nathan Kriebel	Brookston, IN
Illinois College	Kavita K. Patel	Princeton, IL
Illinois Institute of Technology	Pooja Agarwal	Chicago, IL
Illinois State University	Maureen R. Christensen	Normal, IL
Illinois Wesleyan University	Nicole M. Jovicevice	Des Plaines, IL
Judson University	Ethan R. Adams	Springfield, IL
Knox College	Sophia D. Croll	Cambridge, MA
Lake Forest College	Benjamin Labaschin	Northbrook, IL
Lewis University	Jessica L. Tennant	Burr Ridge, IL
Lincoln College	Cody R. Garretson	New Holland, IL
Loyola University Chicago	Ashley Rogers	Evergreen Park, IL
MacMurray College	Shannon M. Young	Carmel, IN
McKendree University	Kenneth O'Dell Jr.	Carlyle, IL
Millikin University	Alexander H. Koulos	Naperville, IL
Monmouth College	Drake A. Decker	Davenport, IA
National Louis University	Jeanette Kyle	Chicago, IL
North Central College	Jack A. Ryan	Oswego, IL
	Carmen Velazquez-Alvarez	Hanford, CA
Northeastern Illinois University	Emily Fioramonti	Chicago, IL
Northern Illinois University	Kiranjit Gill	Palatine, IL
Olivet Nazarene University	Chelsea Risinger	Tremont, IL
Principia College	Shontee M. Pant	Coppell, TX
Quincy University	Catherine Richards	Quincy, IL
Rock Valley College	Matilyn N. Bindl	Belvidere, IL
Rockford University	Angela Martinez	Rockford, IL
Roosevelt University	Lacy N. Reyna	Winterest, IA
St. Xavier University	Anna E. Goldman	Eagan, MN
School of the Art Institute of Chicag		Berwyn, IL
Southern Illinois Univ. Carbondale	Savannah L. McCord	St. Louis, MO
Southern Illinois Univ. Edwardsville		Glen Carbon, IL
The University of Chicago	Cynthia J. Avila	Chicago, IL
Trinity Christian College	Halie A. Wisse	Oostburg, WI
Trinity International University	Richard J. Davis	Arlington Heights, IL
University of Illinois Chicago	Taylor R. Casino	Champaign, IL
omitology of immole omeage	14,101 IC Cubino	Shampaigh, 11

University of Illinois Springfield
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
University of St. Francis
University of St. Francis
University of St. Francis
University Laura Muñoz Lopez
VanderCook College of Music
Western Illinois University
Hannah F. Drake
Wheaton College
Kyle L. Mellinger

Esmond, IL Buffalo Grove, IL Simpsonville, SC Lake Villa, IL Charleston, IL Ladera Ranch, CA

###